Obura-Wonenara dominates PNG Coffee Competition

The Golden Cup Award winners at the 2018 National Coffee Cupping Competition in PNG.

Obura-Wonenara Coffee Cooperative (Habina Resource Centre-PPAP) is the overall winner for the 2018 PNG Coffee Cupping Competition.
This was announced at the 2018 PNG coffee cupping competition closing ceremony on Friday September 14, 2018 at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Port Moresby.

The ceremony was witnessed by government dignitaries, sponsors, farmers and industry stakeholders. The week-long coffee event commenced on September 10 and ended on the 14th last week.

Sixty seven coffee samples were assessed by five national judges and seven overseas Q-graders over a period of 4 days. The judges carefully examined the coffee samples, taking into account various aspects of taste and quality based on the Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAE) cupping protocol to give a score out of 100 points.

For this year’s top 10 awards, Habina Resource Centre-PPAP scored the highest with 85.45 points followed by Kamora of Obura Wonenara, Eastern Highlands (85.41 points), Untoa Kosa of Obura Wonenara, Eastern Highlands (85.32 points), Pandai of Enga (85.27 points), Tibunofi of Kainantu, Eastern Highlands (85.23), Obura Wonenara Coffee Cooperative Society (Bara Buna Resource Centre-PPAP) with 85.16 points, Besser block holder of Obura Wonenara, Eastern Highlands (85.01 points), Rikarika of Henganofi, Eastern Highlands with 84.93, Roots # 1 (Monpi) of Okapa, Eastern Highlands with 84.91, and Timil (Kosem PPAP Minz) of Jiwaka with 84.73 points.

Other 10 coffee groups who scored within the range of 84 and 83 points were also recognized in this year’s awards. The three category awards given were the Golden Cup Award, Consistent Cup Award, and Aroma Cup Award. Groups that scored within the 85 range received the Golden Cup Award, followed by groups within the 84 range given the Consistent Cup Award and Aroma Cup Award was awarded to groups that scored within the 83 range.

CIC chief executive officer Charles Dambui said the Golden Cup awardees will each receive K20,000, while the Consistent Cup Awardees will each receive K15, 000 and Aroma Cup Awardees will each receive K5,000 each, all tied to quality improvement projects.

*This article was developed by the Coffee Industry Corporation which partnered with the PHAMA Program for the National Coffee Cupping Competition 2018. The article was published in the Post Courier on 19 September 2018.

Sign up today for the latest news